General Skepticism
 Pre-existence
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Psi Kick

3 Posts

Posted - 06/07/2003 :  07:15:34  Show Profile Send Psi Kick a Private Message
As a high school instructor I always survey students to see if they have ever experienced deja-vu. Then we discuss how such a thing might even be possible. Next I ask them if it is likely that we could perceive any law or relationship if those laws or relationships did not already exist (Pythagorean theorem, E = MCsquared). By constructing an argument that the rational human mind should logically reject God as a concept, we look at how the concept itself can exist by pure imagination. Why do humans tend toward belief in something it can never prove? When did the mind incorporate God and is it so rigid on insisting on continued discussion? The question next focuses on the fidelity of genetic inheritance as well as how errors are meticulously corrected, all without apparent influence of any "brain." I do these things to uncover thoughts that might otherwise not be provoked. If we see life as the signature of God then by that definition we can keep God in the model of existence. There are such things as other dimensions.

Dave W.
Info Junkie

USA
26021 Posts

Posted - 06/07/2003 :  07:37:23   [Permalink]  Show Profile  Visit Dave W.'s Homepage Send Dave W. a Private Message
Psi Kick wrote:
quote:
The question next focuses on the fidelity of genetic inheritance as well as how errors are meticulously corrected...
If you're teaching biology, I feel sorry for your students. Genetic errors, after all, are not "meticulously corrected." If they were, evolution would not occur.
quote:
If we see life as the signature of God then by that definition we can keep God in the model of existence.