New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Tim
SFN Regular

USA
775 Posts

Posted - 10/14/2004 :  01:01:00  Show Profile Send Tim a Private Message
I've been working nights for about eight years, until last week when I became a casualty of corporate downsizing. With a bit more time on my hands than I care for, I decided to check out a little prime time television, and that was a rather humorous lesson.

I tuned into a show on SciFi called Proof Positive.
http://www.scifi.com/proofpositive/
They advertised investigating three stories, and one would prove to be sure fire evidence of a para-someting-or-another event.

What I saw was, in fact, one of the silliest, most predictable productions of pure bull shit ever allowed to reach even the tawdry domain of cable television.

The first story was about a photographic phenomena called "rods." That one I solved as soon as I saw the first photo. I've taken too many pictures to be fooled by something I've seen dozens of times in my own shots that were trashed because of this 'phenomena.'

The second story featured an inoperable lighthouse with a light that kept coming on at night, and a story about the ghost of a dead keeper. Not much I can say about this one except reflections happen, but they, at least, tried a little locked-up misdirection to make this story more tantalizing.

The third story was about a cop, (detective and hack writer), that knew he was a reincarnated second rate artist. They even introduced twenty some odd generalizations, er I mean, facts to prove the detective/hack writer couldn't be making the story up. This was added to the most amazing set of coincidences to make the story absolutely credible.