Tech help
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Cuneiformist
The Imperfectionist

USA
4955 Posts

Posted - 07/03/2006 :  20:35:42  Show Profile Send Cuneiformist a Private Message
Hey all--

So I've been using my school's web-based email for a few years now. However, for various reasons I decided to start using Mozilla's Thunderbird email client. The idea was to use Thunderbird to pull emails from my web-based email so I could read them on my machine. However, I didn't want it to delete the emails from the web-based server-- there are times when I don't have my computer and will want to have old emails saved on my inbox to read and use.

So how do I fix Thunderbird so it doesn't pull and delete emails from my web-based email account? I know other people who can do this, so why can't I?

And as important-- is there a way to put back all the emails that were pulled from my web-based email onto my computer? I really would hate for them to be gone from that server forever!!

HELP!

JohnOAS
SFN Regular

Australia
800 Posts

Posted - 07/03/2006 :  21:44:20   [Permalink]  Show Profile  Visit JohnOAS's Homepage Send JohnOAS a Private Message
quote:
Originally posted by Cuneiformist
So how do I fix Thunderbird so it doesn't pull and delete emails from my web-based email account? I know other people who can do this, so why can't I?

This bit is easy:

Tools menu > Account Settings
Select the email account (if you have more than one)
Select "Server Settings" from the tree list.
Check the "leave messages on server" option.
(Leave the two sub-options un-checked if you want them to stay "forever")
Robert's your father's brother.

quote:
And as important-- is there a way to put back all the emails that were pulled from my web-based email onto my computer? I really would hate for them to be gone from that server forever!!