Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Coat Of Arms
Skeptic Friend

USA
58 Posts

Posted - 06/02/2008 :  03:21:02  Show Profile Send Coat Of Arms a Private Message  Reply with Quote
You are siting on a bus, plane, train or any situation which involves contact with another human being. The person tells you Im going to commit suicide. They give you no reason. What if any is your next course of action. Would you just ignore the persons comments. Is their some moral compulsion for ethical action? Should a person have compassion for a total stranger? Depending on your position in society. You either do something or nothing. Is it your duty,responsibility, or obligation to get involved.

True Story. In 1971 I was a rookie police officer, I was assigned a Training Officer, our assingment one day was foot patrol on a very busy section of the city. This guy walks up to the T.O. they greet each other by first names. The T.O. asked him how everything was going. He replied, Im going to kill myself can I use your gun. The T.O. told him that would make a big mess, your brains would be all over the ceiling and walls. Just go home and stick your head in the oven and turn on the gas. That was the end of the conversation.

I asked the T.O. who the man was, he said he has known him for years and he was a wacko. In 1971 many homes were heated with gas log stoves.
A few days later were learned he was dead. He had stuck his head in the gas stove. This was 1971 and their was no training for police officers dealing with mental health problems. In my 31 years as a police officer I never forgot the incident. I did experience this on two other occassions during my career.I took them into custody, It was called a pink slip detention.

"Forgive your enemies, but never forget their names."
- John F. Kennedy (1917-1963)

Paul C.

Simon
SFN Regular

USA
1992 Posts