Suicide lines see rise in calls as economy tanks
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

HalfMooner
Dingaling

Philippines
15831 Posts

Posted - 03/14/2009 :  06:58:39  Show Profile Send HalfMooner a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hat tip to Cracked.com for this link. And remember, the economy has gotten much worse since December, when the following was written:
David Lazarus
December 24, 2008
Layoffs, foreclosures, cutbacks -- there are plenty of grim economic stats out there this holiday season. Here's perhaps the grimmest one of all: Calls to Los Angeles' busiest suicide hotline have soared as much as 60% over the last year.

Mental health experts say the sour economy has turned what usually manifests as seasonal blues into a full-blown crisis.

"I've been doing this for 10 years, and this is the worst I've seen it," said Kita Curry, president of the Didi Hirsch Community Mental Health Center, which along with nine clinics in the Southland operates the region's most frequently called suicide hotline -- (877) 7-CRISIS.

Last year, she said, the hotline got an average of 1,500 calls per month. Now the total routinely tops 2,000 and sometimes runs as high as 2,400.

Likewise, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline says it's getting 35% more calls -- roughly 50,000 a month this year compared with about 37,000 last year. The national hotline can be reached at (800) 273-TALK.

"What's even more noticeable than the increase in call volume is that the intensity of the calls has gone up," said Sandri Kramer, who began as a hotline volunteer at the Hirsch center about 13 years ago and now is the program director.

"Fear is the No. 1 emotion we're hearing. People are feeling hopeless and helpless because of the economic crisis, and many feel that things aren't going to get better."

. . .

Biology is just physics that has begun to smell bad.” —HalfMooner