Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 15

ergo123
BANNED

USA
810 Posts

Posted - 10/05/2006 :  09:49:43  Show Profile Send ergo123 a Private Message
I just finished reading the NIST report (final draft). And while it appears thorough, there is clearly room for speculation—or skepticism, if you will.

The conclusions of the NIST report are, understandably based on the various models the team ran to simulate the collapse of the buildings. As a statistician, I do a lot of work with models of all sorts—so while I have not done any modeling of this specific type, I know the general approach. And give the brief explanations of NIST's approach to their modeling, it is done in essentially the same way as when modeling anything—you use known equations for how variables react and test combinations of different levels of key and secondary variables. And sometimes, a key or secondary variable requires a model of its own to provide values for the larger model—just like NIST refers to as subsystems.

But there is a major notation to acknowledge when modeling. Models are designed around a pre-supposed scenario. Models of market response to a new brand, a new product within a category or a new marshmallow shape in Lucky Charms all base their calculations on known, historical market response. These pre-supposed scenarios define the sandbox the modeler gets to play in. And it is exactly these pre-supposed limits that prevent models from accurately predicting response to novel situations. The events of 9-11-01 certainly presented novel situations regarding WTC 1 & 2. If nothing else, this should have put NIST modelers on alert for unusual responses to inputs for their models.