Skeptic Links
Book Reviews
Gift Shop
Staff

Server Time: 22:47:55
Your Local Time:

Fan Mail
skeptic,fan mail,letters to editor,correspondence
Printer Friendly Printer Friendly Version of this Article... Bookmark Bookmark This Article...

The Bible Answer Man

By David
Posted on: 1/18/2003

All correspondence received by Skeptic Friends Network or its staff becomes the property of Skeptic Friends Network, and may be printed without the consent of the author.

Tommy gets a chance to commiserate with another unsucessful caller to Hank's radio show.

Re: SFN Article “Tommy Debates the Bible Answer man

To:   Tommy Huxley
Date: Unknown

Just wanted to say that I'm impressed with the website that you and
your crew have put together. I was particularly entertained by the
transcript of you and Hank Hanegraaff.

I'm a driver for the United States Postal Service that listens to the
"Bible Answer-Man" all the time. I'm also a philosophy student at the
University of Kansas.  The transcript that you included on the site
reminds me of so many of the dissident calls that Hanegraaff receives.
He is very fond of cutting people off before they can get their point
on the air. I can speak from personal experience.

About three months ago (June of '99), I called the "Bible Answer Man"
and actually got on the air. My concerns were regarding his continued
labeling of evolution as racist ideology. I barely got a word in
before he launched into a tirade similar to the one you experienced. I
was simply going to ask whether or not racism existed prior to the
publishing of "On the Origin of Species."

Needless to say, I never got what I would call a real answer.

Hanegraaff continually changed my question or simply piled on so many
questions for me that my original question was never answered. I've
noticed that this is a favorite tactic of Hanegraaff's anytime anyone
has a dissenting opinion (the trinity, God's existence, Eschatology,
etc.).