IBEST
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Terryt88
Skeptic Friend

USA
120 Posts

Posted - 11/06/2002 :  08:46:05  Show Profile  Send Terryt88 a Yahoo! Message Send Terryt88 a Private Message
Ok, just becasue I am a computer nerd, I wanted to put this out. I am currently studying Computer Science at the University of Idaho and recently had a discussion with a professor of mine on topics unrelating to IBEST and what it is. Slowly the topic shifted and I began to become very excited what we were talking about.

IBEST - Initiative for Bioinformatics and Evolutionary STudies

I wanted to supply the link and see what people thought.

http://www.cs.uidaho.edu/~foster/ibest/

And if your a computer nerd like me, it may be interesting to note that they are using a Beowulf cluster, which loosley described is a bunch of individual machines linked together acting as one. Pretty cool stuff. (I know Boron, my geek is showing. )

filthy
SFN Die Hard

USA
14408 Posts

Posted - 11/06/2002 :  11:57:30   [Permalink]  Show Profile Send filthy a Private Message
I haven't the faintest idea of what you're talking about. Beofulf cluster? Hmm.

Anyhow, Welcome to SFN! Gonna check out the link, now.

f

"What luck for rulers that men do not think." -- Adolf Hitler (1889 - 1945)

"If only we could impeach on the basis of criminal stupidity, 90% of the Rethuglicans and half of the Democrats would be thrown out of office." ~~ P.Z. Myres

"The default position of human nature is to punch the other guy in the face and take his stuff." ~~ Dude

Brother Boot Knife of Warm Humanitarianism,

and Crypto-Communist!

Go to Top of Page

filthy
SFN Die Hard

USA
14408 Posts

Posted - 11/06/2002 :  12:03:10   [Permalink]  Show Profile Send filthy a Private Message
Hey Terry, here's the best link on the web for the Theory of Evolution. I give it to you, free of charge, my friend!

http://www.talkorigins.org/