Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Fripp
SFN Regular

USA
727 Posts

Posted - 04/20/2005 :  12:43:22  Show Profile Send Fripp a Private Message
Long time lurker, first time post. This excerpt from a blog called fredoneverything.net got published today in the Editorial section of the Philadelphia Inquirer:

[BEGIN QUOTE]
"I have been on several lists on the Internet that deal with matters such as evolution. ... I wanted to see how serious proponents of evolutionary biology would respond to awkward questions. It was like giving a bobcat a prostate exam. I got everything but answers. They told me I was a crank, implied over and over that I was a creationist, said that I was an enemy of science (someone who asks for evidence is an enemy of science). ... They told me I didn't know anything (that's why I was asking questions), and that I was a mere journalist (the validity of a question depends on its source rather than its content).

But they didn't answer the questions. They ducked and dodged and evaded. ... It was like cross-examining hostile witnesses. I tried to force the issue, pointing out that the available answers were "yes," "no," "I don't know," or "the question is not legitimate," followed by ... discussion. Still no straight answer. ... This is the behavior not of scientists, but of advocates, of true believers. I used to think that science was about asking questions, not about defending things you didn't really know. Religion, I thought, was the other way around. I guess I was wrong."

[END QUOTE]

Anyone know anything about this clown and how full of BS he is?

"What the hell is an Aluminum Falcon?"

"Oh, I'm sorry. I thought my Dark Lord of the Sith could protect a small thermal exhaust port that's only 2-meters wide! That thing wasn't even fully paid off yet! You have any idea what this is going to do to my credit?!?!"