Seminar on Age of Earth?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Cuneiformist
The Imperfectionist

USA
4955 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2006 :  05:00:22  Show Profile Send Cuneiformist a Private Message
I saw this over at AMERICABlog. It's dated to February of '06, so perhaps the news hype came and went, and I just missed it. But perhaps it was just under the radar the whole time. Has anyone had heard anything about it? If so, is there a link somewhere? Here's the story:
quote:
Russell Humphreys to speak, Monday, February 13, 2006.

Title: Evidence for a Young World

Abstract:

Few people are aware that most of the relevant scientific data are in favor of a young world. I've been studying such data for 36 years. Of the several hundred natural processes that have some bearing on the age issue, I estimate (very roughly) that only about 10% favor billion-year ages. The other 90% — little publicized and therefore unknown to most scientists — favor much smaller ages, ages that could be as small as the face-value Biblical age of 6,000 years.

This seminar is a brief sketch of the evidence, giving a dozen samples of the “90%” type of data, including: galaxy rotation, supernova remnants, decay of comets, seafloor sediments, sodium in the sea, geomagnetic energy decay, “mitochondrial Eve,” Neanderthal DNA, T-Rex blood cells, stone age graves, and the shortness of history.