This year's cynical holiday humor
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

marfknox
SFN Die Hard

USA
3739 Posts

Posted - 11/27/2006 :  19:22:51  Show Profile  Visit marfknox's Homepage  Send marfknox an AOL message Send marfknox a Private Message
Last year I made a list of "shitty and less shitty things about the holidays" and posted it to my blog and here. A somewhat sanitized version has been posted to my website for my records (I am a teacher at a PreK through 8th grade school, so can't be too naughty) which can be read here: http://www.paintedprimate.com/words/crappy_holidays.html

I decided to make this a tradition apparently, since today as I went to post to my blog and out came a flurry of holiday sarcasm.

I have once again chosen to torture all of you here, too, with this year's rant. Happy mutha fuckin' holidays ya'll!

-------------------

Well, here we are again, plunged right down into the depths of the season of darkness and light.

That's right, the season of beautiful snow and life-threatening ice;

The season where we get to visit our loving families... as long as we're willing to fork out enough dough for a plane ride or endure driving in wicked weather and traffic;

The season of giving, and the season of gimme gimme gimme!

The season where Americans go forth and buy mostly cheap, unwanted presents for others and then spend three times as much on stuff for themselves;

The most spiritual of seasons - in other words - as Bart Simpson once put it: "the one time of year when people of all religions come together to worship Jesus Christ."

The season where conservative Christians eagerly anticipate, and liberal Christians and secularists dreadfully await the rantings of the likes of Bill O'Reilly regarding the fabled War on Christmas;

The season where I must once again make an important decision: