Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

dglas
Skeptic Friend

Canada
397 Posts

Posted - 12/22/2008 :  15:50:53  Show Profile Send dglas a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Following is a post I wrote for the RDFoundation forums recently.

Now, I'm no artist, as convention recognizes artists, so the following is pure conjecture.

It seems to me that the role of the artist is to expand the boundaries of human understanding, often by means of abstraction. The artist's role seems to me a delicate one. On the one hand, the artist needs to present new "alien and strange" visionary material in order to serve what I see as the purpose of art. On the other hand, the artist must do this in a way that is at least marginally recognizable to the rest of us (offering us a frame of reference) and is thereby limited by what can be referenced. The best artist, in my not so humble opinion, are able to find a compromise between the two that allows for further exploration and advancement while, at the same time, engaging the one who experiences the art.

In this sense I don't see art as being in any way comparable to religion, since religion is about limiting vantages into prescribed niches. I see them as opposed in a fundamental way. One (art) is about expanding horizons and understandings; the other (religion) is about constricting them. It is the difference between possibilities and eternal recapitulation to the same old same old. In this way, I see art as much, much, much more rational than religion. Art is one of the engines of growth and variety. Religion is a tool of stagnation..

YMMV.

So, my question is, and I would especially welcome Marf's input, in particular, on this, how incredibly wrong am I?

--------------------------------------------------
- dglas (In the hell of 1000 unresolved subplots...)
The Presupposition of Intrinsic Evil
+ A Self-Justificatory Framework
= The "Heart of Darkness"