Need help on replying to Creationist
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5

daehgnab

22 Posts

Posted - 08/31/2010 :  20:35:45   [Permalink]  Show Profile Send daehgnab a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I have no experiences with Creationists or any others of such kind. However, from what I experienced, I have the feeling that the problem with it has nothing to do with any of the subjects that are discussed but is a completely different one.

As a scientist I try to find answers that are logic and testable. Those answers are then valid until somebody comes along and proves them wrong or finds more sophisticated answers. The whole thing is inherently dynamic. For example the phylogenetic tree changes at times faster than any printer can possibly manage to finish printing out a complete current one before it is already outdated. This is just the way it goes.

The important thing is that science is questioning due to curiosity and wanting to know regardless of what we like or don’t like and what we want or believed to be true. Answers are then accepted until they are outdated. There are true scientific debates where one says one thing and the other says another thing, which means: back to the drawing board. This is a completely different story and should end with: well, I think we still don't know...

Religion however should (only) have the purpose of giving people answers where they need one to feel save and comfortable in this world. Some people really need those and this is OK. If this involves disbelieving and questioning the answers of scientists then there is nothing wrong with it.