Skeptics and Charitable Giving
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

marfknox
SFN Die Hard

USA
3739 Posts

Posted - 08/31/2011 :  13:30:15  Show Profile  Visit marfknox's Homepage  Send marfknox an AOL message Send marfknox a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I was just sent a message from the Humanist Charities - an organization/project of the American Humanist Association that has been around a few years and seems to be slowly growing. Here's a link to their website.

As I've been intimately involved with the AHA (I was an independent contractor for 18 months and have had many other connections through my volunteer work for local chapters, Camp Quest, and the Secular Student Alliance) I trust the efficiency and where the funds are actually going, and I definitely trust that the causes will always been ones I support as a secular humanist. So it's nice to have a charity out there that I can always donate to that I trust.

I'm curious, what sort of charities people here like and have or plan to donate to? I would image that skepticism plays a great role in deciding where to give (and whether to give at all) since many charities are not very efficient and many also have ties to religion that turn us off because even if the donations go to secular efforts, it frees up funds for things like conversion efforts.

Also, some time ago I heard an interview on the radio with a guy who helped run a website that evaluated charities and how efficient they were, the purpose of which was to help people who want to donate find the best charities to give to. But I can't remember the name. I've done some web searches and found some similar websites, but not sure which are best. Does anyone off-hand know of a really good website for evaluating the efficiency and honesty of charities?

"Too much certainty and clarity could lead to cruel intolerance" -Karen Armstrong