Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

HalfMooner
Dingaling

Philippines
15831 Posts

Posted - 01/26/2012 :  02:26:39  Show Profile Send HalfMooner a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Warning: I am not a real scientist!

I've been looking into some of the most recent information about wolves, early dogs, and how, when and where some gray wolves might have become village dogs. I've long had a hunch that the prehistory of early Homo sapiens and the dog were interactive and intimately linked, and that understanding one would help to understand the other.

This kind of stuff fascinates me.

It turns out that the dog may have been first domesticated from the gray wolf about 16,000 years ago, somewhere in East Asia south of the Yangtze River. That puts the origin of the dog in Southern China or South-east Asia, at a time when Neolithic people there began first cultivating rice.

Now, here are some interesting data points:

1. Indigenous Australians settled that island continent some 50,000 years ago. (Mungo Man settled there even earlier, but is now generally considered a separate hominid, genetically separate from Indigenous Australians, or "Aborigines".) Indigenous Australians are considered to be closely linked in heritage and genetics to the Melanesian people of New Guinea and Melanesia. And probably to scattered "Negrito" peoples scattered about South-east Asia, including the Philippines. So imagine a "Proto-Melanesian" migration about 40 k. years ago, traveling south and east from Asia into the then-landlocked islands of Indonesia, the Philippines, with some of these trekkers going onward to Oz.

Indigenous Australian. At least 46,000 dogless years.