Introduce yourself
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 30

garbagegirl

1 Post

Posted - 04/07/2006 :  17:59:00   [Permalink]  Show Profile  Send garbagegirl an AOL message Send garbagegirl a Private Message  Reply with Quote
[hi- I am new. I am in the boston area and going to college but can't find intelligent conversation. (music school you see) I'd like to see if there is anyone out there in my area!
Go to Top of Page

Ghost_Skeptic
SFN Regular

Canada
510 Posts

Posted - 04/07/2006 :  22:41:45   [Permalink]  Show Profile Send Ghost_Skeptic a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I guess it is about time that I introduced myself. I am an engineer with a degree in Mechanical Engineering but my work is more petroleum reservoir oriented (pressure transient analysis of well tests). Going into my second half century, I live in a small village west of Calgary, Alberta, Canada with my wife, a big dog, and two cats that we inherited from our son who apparently became allergic to them. My family were atheists but as a child I briefly believed in Christianity, but then I also once believed in Santa Claus. I am now a militant agnostic ("I don't know if there is a god and you don't either") - stolen from a post on SFN. I found this site via the Phil Plait's Bad Astronomy website. I am interested in alternative medicine, but I am very skeptical about most claims in this field.

I loath religious fundamentalists and creationists - anyone who tries to ram their religion down my throat. Modern history has convinced me that the Arrogant Worms were right when they said that "history is made by stupid people".

I enjoy listening to jazz, blues etc and African music or anything unusual which is why I like listening to CKUA - the best radio in the world in my humble opinion.