Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 16

Dave W.
Info Junkie

USA
26021 Posts

Posted - 09/01/2006 :  22:16:52   [Permalink]  Show Profile  Visit Dave W.'s Homepage Send Dave W. a Private Message
quote:
Originally posted by JohnOAS

Michael, I have a science degree(*), but I don't call myself a scientist. I use scientific principles all the time, but 98% of what I do is engineering. You make it sound like calling someone an engineer instead of a scientist is somehow demeaning. It's not a hierarchy. I don't feel inferior to scientists, and I doubt most scientist feel superior to engineers. (Of course there will be individuals in both camps who do feel this way, but that's beside the point). Personally I think we'd be stuffed without either group.
I don't think Michael's problem is hierarchical, John, I think it's simply a failure to understand the definitions of words.

In the "Big Bang" threads, Michael tried to pass off the idea that evolutionary biology is a branch of physics because organisms are necessarily bound by physical laws. In this discussion, he seems to be trying to pass off the idea that engineers are scientists because engineers make use of "scientific principles" (as you called 'em).

Of course, following along that line of "logic," the 17-year-old clerk at my local one-hour-photo shop is a "scientist" because she makes use of the gizmos provided by optics and materials engineers, technologists and scientists. In other words, if something is high-tech or "sciency," Michael seems to be assuming that anyone working on it is necessarily a scientist.

(It occured to me for a moment that Michael might think that anyone with "PhD" after his/her name is a scientist, but then I realized that even Michael must be aware of, for example, PhDs in English or history.)

- Dave W. (Private Msg, EMail)
Evidently, I rock!
Why not question something for a change?