New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly Bookmark this Topic BookMark Topic
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 16

JEROME DA GNOME
BANNED

2418 Posts

Posted - 07/20/2007 :  21:37:12   [Permalink]  Show Profile Send JEROME DA GNOME a Private Message
Originally posted by ktesibios

Originally posted by JEROME DA GNOME

Newspeak.

Horsepuckey. That the definition of a technical term isn't identical to the definition of the same word in common usage doesn't mean that the technical usage is deceptive. It means that interpreting the technical term by the standards of common usage is incorrect.

This can also happen when the same word is used as a term of art in two different disciplines. For example, when I first started reading the Bad Astronomy forum (now the BAUT forum) and the Apollohoax forum, I found it very hard to understand JayUtah's use of the term "phase angle" in discussing Apollo photographs.

The problem was that I'm an electronics tech by trade, "phase angle" has a specific meaning in electronics and I was instinctively applying that meaning to the term. It wasn't until I grasped that "phase angle" has a very different meaning when you're discussing lighting that I was able to understand what Jay was saying.

I understand what you are saying, but you speak of a "phrase" within a discipline. Could you define the two phrases in the context of their disciplines?

What I am speaking of is the inverse usage of a long defined word. I believe the word theory is about 400 years old from the French.