Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 6

leoofno
Skeptic Friend

USA
346 Posts

Posted - 04/28/2006 :  07:42:29  Show Profile Send leoofno a Private Message
I found this column (link below) by Rabbi Mark Gellman in Newsweek. He thinks that athiests are too angry and intolerant of their religious neighbors. Since I'm somewhat new to full-fledged atheism, I spend some time “double checking” my beliefs to see if I missed something. Thats why I foung this interesting: he seems to be writing about whats wrong with athiests, so maybe I should check it out.

I thought that since this site has somewhat of a mix of beliefs on it, I might get your thoughts on this column. To summarize my opinion, I thought he did not establish that athiests are more angry than anyone else, and did not dive a convincing argument why religious belief was superior to athiesm (which I think he tried to do).

I've quoted is main points below, preceeded by RG:, followed by my comments. Perhaps y'all (yeah, I've been in the South too long) can give yours.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/12498143/site/newsweek/

Trying to Understand Angry Atheists
Why do nonbelievers seem to be threatened by the idea of God?

RG: “why they are often so angry.”

He doesn't teally support his claim that atheists are “angry” and “threatened by the idea of God”. It's just assumed. I certainly don't feel angry and threatened by God, although I do sometimes feel threatened by the politics of his believers. But that's different and not limited to atheists.

RG: “many people who do not believe in God seem to find the religion of their neighbors terribly offensive or oppressive, particularly if the folks next door are evangelical Christians.”